PICKNMIX011 – Kije

comment 0


A new name joins the Sweetbox clan, serving up two uniquely cosmic cuts to send the rave stratospheric.

Russian upstart Kije delivers a lesson in intricacy with his fizzing take on a microfunk vibe, ‘Acid Drops’. Built on spacious pads, playful percussion and a Daft Punk-esque main line, unlike its namesake, this one won’t leave a sour taste in your mouth.

‘Road To Nowhere’, meanwhile, is equally quirky, though with a more urgent vibe. Like alien transmissions bouncing off the debris of a shattered satellite, an array of off-kilter blips and glitches whizz in from all angles to combine with claustrophobic low-end and tight techy drumwork.

Adding a whole new sound to the freewheeling Sweetbox catalogue, Kije’s debut goes intergalactic from 19th June. Make sure you’re on board…


Release date: 19th July 2019
Written by: Evgeny Khudin
Design: Banana Gun
Published by: Pink Giraffe Publishing

Leave a Reply